Classic Birthday Cake, But Moist!!!

Everyone’s been handed a piece of yellow cake at a birthday party. It’s a gamble. That you normally don’t win. Yellow birthday cake is too frequently dry and underwhelming. It’s sad.

It’s also sad to admit that I committed dry yellow cake baking last month. I baked a four layer purple and turquoise cake with fudge frosting for a friend’s birthday and while it looked beautiful, it just did not taste and feel amazing. The cake recipe was from a fancy cake book that I had checked out from the library and I was SO excited about. It was a very meticulous and time consuming recipe and it produced beautiful looking cakes, but the end result was just OK.

My boyfriend’s birthday was on Saturday and he had picked a classic yellow cake with fudge frosting as his birthday cake of choice and I was determined not to serve him dry cake. I scoured the trusty interwebz and came across this gem of a recipe. I was surprised to find that the ingredients and directions were both very simple and straightforward. Not to mention, what?! There are two whole cups of water in this cake?!

The fudge frosting is super simple:

1 pound semisweet chocolate

2 cups heavy cream

1/2 cup brown sugar

Put chocolate in medium size heat resistant glass bowl, set aside. Heat cream and sugar in saucepan on medium heat, stirring occasionally, until it just starts to simmer– then take off heat quickly, pour over chocolate. Cover with plastic wrap for 5 minutes. Whisk slowly from center to outside until mixture is smooth. You can leave the bowl on the counter for about an hour to thicken up, or do what I do- stick the bowl in the fridge and stir it every 15 minutes or so until it thickens up enough to frost a cake. You want it to be about room temperature. Super simple. Super yummy.

I whipped these puppies up really quick and ended up with two beautiful, moist but fluffy vanilla cake layers that I could be proud of:

Image

I had already shaved the top off of the cake on the right to taste 🙂

I leveled them down even further and stacked them with a generous layer of fudge frosting in the middle:

Image

I smoothed the frosting squishing out all over the cake for the crumb coat and popped it in the freezer for 10 minutes to set:

Image

Finished frosting and added some galaxy sprinkles:

Image

Then surprised my favorite birthday boy!!

Image

Go find someone who’s having a birthday and make this cake for them! It’s tasty.

Until cake pops..

-Tex

One thought on “Classic Birthday Cake, But Moist!!!

Leave a Reply

